Buying Options

Kindle Price: $23.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Above the Ether: A Novel by [Eric Barnes]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Above the Ether: A Novel Kindle Edition

3.5 out of 5 stars 29 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$23.99
Hardcover
$38.14

Length: 279 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Releases December 1, 2020. Pre-order Wolf Girl 4 now with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Order now

Product description

Review

Praise for The City Where We Once Lived

"In bare-bones prose that is subtly affecting, the novel is a haunting portrait of why people form bonds and the many ways those bonds can be torn apart. . . . A story of adaption and the power of the human spirit."--Foreword

"Barnes's violent, haunted, and creepy novel about failing societies will attract readers of dark, postapocalyptic fiction."--Library Journal
br "Prescient . . . haunting . . . a cautionary tale about a world that feels a hair's-breadth away."--Shelf Awareness, starred review

"An all too realistic novel that could easily be ripped from future newspaper headlines, The City Where We Once Lived is a compelling read from first page to last and reveals author Eric Barnes to have a genuine flair for narrative driven storytelling. . . . Very highly recommended."--Midwest Book Review

"Barnes's new novel is a rare and truly original work: a hard-edged fable, tender and unflinching, in which a man's descent and renewal is mirrored by his city. An eerie, beautifully written, and profoundly humane book."--Emily St. John Mandel, author of National Book Award finalist Station Eleven

"Written in a gorgeously spare language that perfectly reflects the dystopic future this novel depicts, The City Where We Once Lived kept me enthralled throughout. At the its core is a deep and admirable compassion for humanity."--Chris Offutt, author of Country Dark

"A stunningly-written tale of loss and grief. The stark beauty of Barnes's prose will pull you into a post-apocalyptic wasteland that is at once utterly foreign and hauntingly familiar. The City Where We Once Lived is a riveting journey through devastation, but one that delivers a world where seeds of hope emerge in the unlikeliest of places. It is a story of our time, but also timeless. It is a story of one man, but a story that speaks to each of us and for all of us. It is a story that will stay with you long after you've turned the last page." -Lindsay Moran, national bestselling author of Blowing My Cover

"An intensely envisioned work of dystopian realism and American desolation, beautifully drawn from the slow-motion apocalypse of everyday life."--Christopher Brown, author of Tropic of Kansas

"Eric Barnes's The City Where We Once Lived is a most original novel, surprising and fierce--a dazzling puzzle of grief and utopia, dystopia and hope."--Minna Zallman Proctor, author of Landslide "Spare and elegant, this novel brings into breathtaking relief a frighteningly recognizable future. Eric Barnes shows us what it means to inhabit--a building, a city, a life. And also what it means to be inhabited--by memories, by ghosts, and maybe, just maybe, by hope." --Elise Blackwell, author of The Lower Quarter and Hunger

"A controlled burn of a book, full of horror and sadness and, once the fire dies down, the beauty of new growth. In the tradition of J. G. Ballard and Margaret Atwood, Eric Barnes gives us a dying neighborhood of outcasts who save the world that has cast them out. Just the book we need in these dystopian times."--John Feffer, author of Splinterlands

"With deft prose and a discerning voice, The City Where We Once Lived is a taut examination of the archetypes and rituals that form the landscape of community."--Courtney Miller Santo, author of Three Story House and The Roots of the Olive Tree

"This novel stuck with me. The voice is appealingly quiet, the atmosphere dreamlike, but the premise of poisoned ground, weather gone haywire, and a government that has thrown up its hands, is frighteningly real. The most remarkable thing is that even after hope is gone, kindness survives."--James Whorton, author of Approximately Heaven and Angela Sloan

"Barnes has constructed an intricate apocalyptic world that frighteningly mirrors present-day reality. Through stark yet intimate prose, Barnes explores themes of separatism and displacement and how the lenses we look through are often distorted by lack of connection and empathy. He offers a cautionary tale about a world that feels a hair's-breadth away."--Malcolm Avenue Review

Recommended reads of April from Pop Cultured Nerd "Taut with timely themes of climate change, waning empathy and lack of community, the story hits scarily close to home."--Pop Cultured Nerd

"The City Where We Once Lived by Eric Barnes is a highly recommended look at a dying city that is part dystopian and part premonition."--She Treads Softly --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

About the Author

Eric Barnes is the author of three previous novels, including The City Where We Once Lived. He has published more than forty short stories in Prairie Schooner, North American Review, The Literary Review, Best American Mystery Stories, and other publications. By day, he is publisher of newspapers in Memphis, Nashville, Knoxville, and Chattanooga that cover business, politics, the arts, and more. On Fridays, he hosts a news talk show on his local PBS station. He lives in Memphis, Tennessee. --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Product details

  • File size : 944 KB
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print length : 279 pages
  • ASIN : B07FWB2598
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • Publisher : Arcade (11 June 2019)
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Not Enabled
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.5 out of 5 stars 29 ratings

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5
29 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 14 September 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 11 August 2020

Top reviews from other countries

Spud
1.0 out of 5 stars Don’t bother.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 June 2020
Verified Purchase
riotthill
5.0 out of 5 stars Apocalypse
Reviewed in Canada on 25 May 2020
Verified Purchase
Susan Ricketts
3.0 out of 5 stars A Diifficult Plot to nFollow
Reviewed in Canada on 18 August 2020
Verified Purchase
phil and liz frey
4.0 out of 5 stars Speculative and sobering glimpse into the world towards which we are going
Reviewed in the United States on 7 August 2019
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Jackh
1.0 out of 5 stars Apocalyptic and dreary
Reviewed in the United States on 20 September 2020
Verified Purchase