<Embed>
$44.98
+ $3.00 Delivery
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days.
Ships from and sold by RarewavesUSA.
Other Sellers on Amazon
$57.27
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: The Nile Australia
$61.99
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Books Mela Aus
$73.27
+ $7.77 delivery
Sold by: Gagazet Media*
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The City Where We Once Lived: A Novel Hardcover – 3 April 2018

4.3 out of 5 stars 92 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$44.98
$44.98
Arrives: 29 Jan - 4 Feb

Releases January 7, 2021. Pre-order The Fast 800 Easy now with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Order now
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • The City Where We Once Lived: A Novel
  • +
  • The Book Of M
Total Price: $88.13
Buy the selected items together

Releases February 16, 2021. Pre-order How to Avoid a Climate Disaster now with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Order now

Product details

  • Hardcover : 244 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1628728833
  • Dimensions : 15.24 x 2.79 x 22.86 cm
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1628728835
  • Publisher : Arcade (3 April 2018)
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 92 ratings

Product description

Review

“Barnes has constructed an intricate apocalyptic world that frighteningly mirrors present-day reality.”—Shelf Awareness, starred review

“In bare-bones prose that is subtly affecting, the novel is a haunting portrait of why people form bonds and the many ways those bonds can be torn apart. . . . A story of adaption and the power of the human spirit.”—Foreword

"Barnes’s violent, haunted, and creepy novel about failing societies will attract readers of dark, postapocalyptic fiction."—Library Journal

“An all too realistic novel that could easily be ripped from future newspaper headlines, The City Where We Once Lived is a compelling read from first page to last and reveals author Eric Barnes to have a genuine flair for narrative driven storytelling. . . . Very highly recommended.”—Midwest Book Review

“Exceptional . . . From the first pages all the way to the last, I was drawn in. I have read some dystopian future books in the past, but The City Where We Once Lived stands out among them."—Seattle Book Review

"Barnes's new novel is a rare and truly original work: a hard-edged fable, tender and unflinching, in which a man's descent and renewal is mirrored by his city. An eerie, beautifully written, and profoundly humane book."—Emily St. John Mandel, author of National Book Award finalist Station Eleven

"Written in a gorgeously spare language that perfectly reflects the dystopic future this novel depicts, The City Where We Once Lived kept me enthralled throughout. At its core is a deep and admirable compassion for humanity."—Chris Offutt, author of Country Dark

"A stunningly-written tale of loss and grief. The stark beauty of Barnes's prose will pull you into a post-apocalyptic wasteland that is at once utterly foreign and hauntingly familiar. The City Where We Once Lived is a riveting journey through devastation, but one that delivers a world where seeds of hope emerge in the unlikeliest of places. It is a story of our time, but also timeless. It is a story of one man, but a story that speaks to each of us and for all of us. It is a story that will stay with you long after you've turned the last page." –Lindsay Moran, national bestselling author of Blowing My Cover

“An intensely envisioned work of dystopian realism and American desolation, beautifully drawn from the slow-motion apocalypse of everyday life.”—Christopher Brown, author of Tropic of Kansas

“Eric Barnes's The City Where We Once Lived is a most original novel, surprising and fierce—a dazzling puzzle of grief and utopia, dystopia and hope.”—Minna Zallman Proctor, author of Landslide

"Spare and elegant, this novel brings into breathtaking relief a frighteningly recognizable future. Eric Barnes shows us what it means to inhabit—a building, a city, a life. And also what it means to be inhabited—by memories, by ghosts, and maybe, just maybe, by hope." —Elise Blackwell, author of The Lower Quarter and Hunger

"A controlled burn of a book, full of horror and sadness and, once the fire dies down, the beauty of new growth. In the tradition of J. G. Ballard and Margaret Atwood, Eric Barnes gives us a dying neighborhood of outcasts who save the world that has cast them out. Just the book we need in these dystopian times."—John Feffer, author of Splinterlands

“With deft prose and a discerning voice, The City Where We Once Lived is a taut examination of the archetypes and rituals that form the landscape of community.”—Courtney Miller Santo, author of Three Story House and The Roots of the Olive Tree

"This novel stuck with me. The voice is appealingly quiet, the atmosphere dreamlike, but the premise of poisoned ground, weather gone haywire, and a government that has thrown up its hands, is frighteningly real. The most remarkable thing is that even after hope is gone, kindness survives."—James Whorton, author of Approximately Heaven and Angela Sloan

“Barnes has constructed an intricate apocalyptic world that frighteningly mirrors present-day reality. Through stark yet intimate prose, Barnes explores themes of separatism and displacement and how the lenses we look through are often distorted by lack of connection and empathy. He offers a cautionary tale about a world that feels a hair's-breadth away.”—Malcolm Avenue Review

“Taut with timely themes of climate change, waning empathy and lack of community, the story hits scarily close to home.”—Pop Culture Nerd

“A highly recommended look at a dying city that is part dystopian and part premonition.”She Treads Softly

About the Author

Eric Barnes is the author of two previous novels, Shimmer and Something Pretty, Something Beautiful. He has published more than forty short stories in Prairie Schooner, North American Review, The Literary Review, Best American Mystery Stories, and other publications. By day, he is publisher of newspapers in Memphis, Nashville, Knoxville, and Chattanooga that cover business, politics, the arts, and more. On Fridays, he hosts a news talk show on his local PBS station. In the past, he was a reporter and editor in Connecticut and New York. Years ago he drove a forklift in Tacoma, Washington, and then Kenai, Alaska, worked construction on Puget Sound, and, many years ago, he graduated from the MFA writing program at Columbia University. He lives in Memphis, Tennessee.

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
92 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 4 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

Mig Bardsley
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 31 October 2020
Verified Purchase
Closet Romantic
5.0 out of 5 stars Not my usual genre but it's well written and a very good read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 August 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
L. A. Maas
5.0 out of 5 stars Doomy & gloomy but with hope
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 August 2020
Verified Purchase
C. M. Pyper
5.0 out of 5 stars An absorbing read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 August 2020
Verified Purchase
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing, but very strange
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 August 2020
Verified Purchase