Buying Options

Kindle Price: $8.30
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
A Curse So Dark and Lonely (The Cursebreaker Series) by [Brigid Kemmerer]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


A Curse So Dark and Lonely (The Cursebreaker Series) Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 555 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$8.30

Length: 506 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled Page Flip: Enabled
Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $2.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English Age Level: 7 and up
Grade Level: 9 and up

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description

About the Author

Brigid Kemmerer is the New York Times bestselling author More Than We Can Tell, Letters to the Lost, and the Elementals series. She was born in Omaha, Nebraska, though her parents quickly moved her all over the United States, from the desert in Albuquerque, New Mexico, to the lakeside in Cleveland, Ohio, and several stops in between, eventually settling near Annapolis, Maryland.
www.brigidkemmerer.com
@BrigidKemmerer

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Review

Has everything you'd want in a retelling of a classic fairy tale: a finely-drawn fantasy world, a heroine rarely seen in fiction, and a tortured hero with a secret. I have only one complaint: I wish the sequel were already available! (Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of A SPARK OF LIGHT and SMALL GREAT THINGS)

Absolutely spellbinding. A Curse So Dark and Lonely expands on all the beloved themes of 'Beauty and the Beast' to create an intensely original retelling: one full of fierce new characters, wicked magic, and wondrous amounts of heart. Brigid Kemmerer doesn't just tell a story, she builds an entire world that you will never want to leave. (Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of CARAVAL and LEGENDARY)

I couldn't get this creative, suspenseful take on 'Beauty and the Beast' out of my head. (Sara Holland, New York Times bestselling author of EVERLESS)

Slow burning, big hearted, magical fun! I loved every minute. (New York Times bestselling author Wendy Higgins)

Heartwarming, thoughtful, and romantic: Brigid Kemmerer took me on a magical journey with this dark fairy tale about growing up, falling in love, and making impossible choices. I can't wait to see where these characters go next. (Jodi Meadows, New York Times bestselling co-author of MY LADY JANE and MY PLAIN JANE)

Beautifully dark, filled with wild adventure and a modern-day heroine every reader will find a bit of themselves in. (Alexandra Christo, author of TO KILL A KINGDOM)

Harper is the undisputed hero . . . Avoiding disability inspiration tropes, she is a fallible, well-rounded character who fights for the vulnerable and resists being labeled as such herself despite how others perceive her. A fast-paced, richly detailed feminist epic. (Kirkus Reviews, starred review)

This enthralling modern fable champions altruism while illustrating intimacy's relationship with honesty, respect, trust, and consent. (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

Fans of Cassandra Clare, Marissa Meyer, or Alex Flinn, as well as any reader looking to sink into a top-notch story with great characters, will want to read this book. (VOYA, starred review)

A complex, creative, and compelling reimagining of Beauty and the Beast. (School Library Connection, highly recommended) --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
555 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers
TOP 100 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 26 June 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 23 September 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 17 April 2020
Reviewed in Australia on 16 January 2020

Top international reviews

Jane Kelsey
5.0 out of 5 stars A BOOK YOU MUST READ! A great Beauty and the Beast retelling with great rep!!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 April 2019
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Sarah
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull writing style and a stupid heroine killed this book for me
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 September 2019
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Annabelle Heath
5.0 out of 5 stars First book I've binge read in ages!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 April 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Micky - bookphenomena
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong start and end with disappointment in the middle
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 December 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
MummyisReading
5.0 out of 5 stars So brilliant!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 July 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Readinginpyjamas
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely retelling of Beauty and The Beast
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 March 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Neelam
4.0 out of 5 stars Review
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 December 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Books by Becci
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable retelling
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 June 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Bex
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm Trash For Re-tellings.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 August 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Dominique
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely adored this!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 July 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Helennnlouise18
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive retelling.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 August 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
dingleberry
4.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 March 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
N Drake
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and original Beauty & The Beat retelling
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 August 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read. Beautifully written
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 February 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Corinne
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely adored this, highly recommend 5*
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 September 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse