Buying Options

Kindle Price: $10.66
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
The False Prince (Ascendance Trilogy Book 1) by [Jennifer A Nellson]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The False Prince (Ascendance Trilogy Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 968 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from

Length: 263 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English Age Level: 8 - 12
Grade Level: 3 - 7

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description


Praise for The False Prince:

A New York Times Notable Children's Book
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
Winner of the Cybils Award for Middle-Grade Fantasy & Science Fiction

A page turner.... -- New York Times Book Review

Sage proves to be a compelling character whose sharp mind and shrewd self-possession will make readers eager to follow him into a sequel. -- Wall Street Journal

This kickoff to her new 'Ascendance Trilogy' is a swashbuckling origin story. . . . Sage is a quick wit, and Nielsen showcases it with terrific dialogue... chock full of alluring details for adventure-loving boys. -- Los Angeles Times

* Sage is deftly characterized through humorous first-person narration, quickly establishing himself as a beguiling antihero. . . . First in the 'Ascendancy Trilogy, ' this is an impressive, promising story with some expertly executed twists. -- Publishers Weekly, starred review

Nielsen has written a terrific story that carries readers along to the very (surprising) end and will leave them clamoring for the next book in her trilogy. -- BookPage, featured Top Pick review

The False Prince is more Harry Potter (minus the magic) than Hunger Games... with authentic characters, a convincing sense of danger and a genuinely high-stakes plot.... -- Hollywood Reporter

Sure to appeal to middle-grade readers, The False Prince is an imaginative, plot-driven adventure story with a classic feel.... Readers will be turning pages feverishly, especially toward the climax of the novel. Deception and betrayal abound! -- RT Book Reviews

The delight of Nielsen's story is the discovery of the true motivations of all the characters in a fast-paced plot with plenty of action, mystery and violence. -- Columbus Dispatch

The False Prince is a gracefully written fantasy that flows from beginning to end without a hitch.... In addition to dynamic characters, Jennifer Nielsen has created a plot with twists and turns in all the right places. -- Deseret News

Ruthless ambition, fierce action and plotting, complex characters and lots of sword play and hidden passages keep pages flipping. Readers of this multifaceted, well-crafted tale will eagerly await Sage's further adventures. -- Kirkus Reviews
Fast-paced and exciting, this book will appeal to readers who enjoy intrigue mixed in with their adventure.... Full of machinations and surprises, this book will keep students reading until the last page and eager for the second in the trilogy. -- School Library Journal
A sure-fire mix of adventure, mystery, and suspense. -- The Horn Book --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

Jennifer A. Nielsen is the acclaimed author of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling Ascendance Series: The False Prince, The Runaway King, and The Shadow Throne. She also wrote the New York Times bestselling Mark of the Thief trilogy: Mark of the Thief, Rise of the Wolf, and Wrath of the Storm; the stand-alone fantasy The Scourge; the historical thrillers A Night Divided, Resistance, and Words on Fire; the second book in the Horizon series, Deadzone; Book Six of the Infinity Ring series, Behind Enemy Lines; and The Traitor's Game series: The Traitor's Game, The Deceiver's Heart, and The Warrior's Curse. Jennifer lives in northern Utah with her husband, their children, and a perpetually muddy dog. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

  • File size : 2537 KB
  • Print length : 263 pages
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • ASIN : B00C7FMH0C
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • Publisher : Scholastic Australia (1 June 2012)
  • Language: : English
  • X-Ray : Not Enabled
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 968 ratings
click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
968 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 1 April 2017
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 14 October 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 31 August 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 4 February 2016
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 11 July 2016
Reviewed in Australia on 19 March 2016

Top reviews from other countries

5.0 out of 5 stars My review
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 December 2018
Verified Purchase
5.0 out of 5 stars So good we bought it twice!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 December 2017
Verified Purchase
owwen wilson
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 June 2017
Verified Purchase
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 24 November 2012
Verified Purchase
Happy Customer
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 July 2015
Verified Purchase