<Embed>
$20.05
+ $2.99 Delivery
In stock.
Ships from and sold by Book Outlet Canada.
Other Sellers on Amazon
$26.76
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: BuyGlobal
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Force of Nature Mass Market Paperback – 30 July 2019

4.2 out of 5 stars 2,550 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$14.95
Mass Market Paperback
$20.05
$20.05
Arrives: 8 - 16 March

Releases February 16, 2021. Pre-order How to Avoid a Climate Disaster now with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Order now
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • Force of Nature
  • +
  • The Dry: Film Tie-In
Total Price: $29.05
Buy the selected items together

Releases March 2, 2021. Pre-order Beyond Order: 12 More Rules for Life now with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Order now

Product details

  • Publisher : Flatiron Books (30 July 2019)
  • Language : English
  • Mass Market Paperback : 448 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1250214629
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1250214621
  • Dimensions : 10.34 x 3.07 x 19.15 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 2,550 ratings

Product description

Review

Compelling...Harper continues the intense plotting and detail for characters and setting that she established in The Dry.
--Associated Press

All of the novel's characters have been drawn with exceptional complexity, and none more so than Aaron Falk...So much more than a conventional detective, the reflective and compassionate Falk provides the book's moral compass.
--New York Times Book Review

"Secrets revealed as the investigation unfolds will keep readers guessing until the unlikely plot reveals itself in the last pages of the novel. Fans of her debut book The Dry will find Force of Nature lives up to the exciting expectations Harper is becoming known for building."
--Florida Times-Union

"Force of Nature reinforces Harper's gift for creating characters with complicated relationships and especially for writing about wild landscapes, where anything can happen."
--LitHub

"Even more impressive than The Dry...An almost unbearable level of suspense...Nature is a hostile, unpredictable force in both of Harper's novels, but her brilliance lies in making it into a test of horribly fallible human nature."
--Sunday Times

"While the plot unfolds at an expertly controlled pace and is resolved in a satisfyingly ambiguous fashion, it is the relationships between the women that drive the novel...Thoughtful, moving, troubling."
--Irish Times

Both novels are intense, deeply intelligent psychological thrillers that explore how our pasts - especially our childhoods - mold and disrupt our lives in the present.
--Christian Science Monitor

Riveting, tension-driven thriller...Perfect for fans of Tana French and readers who enjoy literary page-turners."
--Booklist, starred review

"Harper's crackerjack plotting propels the story...Harper layers her story with hidden depths, expertly mining the distrust between Alice and her four colleagues, and the secrets that simmer under the surface...A spooky, compelling read."
--Kirkus

"Stellar... The briefest dip into the prologue results in stomach-tightening anticipation that begs the reader to continue... [Harper] infuses the narrative with energy and atmosphere as Falk plumbs professional and personal relationships for clues to Alice's fate."
--Shelf Awareness

Set against the fascinating backdrop of a wild, rural location in south Australia...Presents an intriguing crime that might not actually exist and potential suspects with realistically complex personalities and possible motives. The two story lines, past and present, collide with a satisfying yet not gratuitous conclusion.
--Library Journal

"A gripping tale of an elemental battle for survival...Harper once again shows herself to be a storytelling force to be reckoned with."
--Publishers Weekly

"Jane Harper is a must-read writer, and Aaron Falk is the Harry Bosch of the outback. Force Of Nature is a remarkable hybrid of suspense, wilderness survival, memorable characters, and gorgeous writing."
--Michael Koryta, New York Times bestselling author of Those Who Wish Me Dead

"I loved The Dry. Force of Nature is even better. Brilliantly paced, it wrong-foots the reader like a rocky trail through the bush. I adored it."
--Susie Steiner, bestselling author of Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown

"A major voice in contemporary fiction. Like Tana French's Dublin Murder Squad series and Kate Atkinson's Jackson Brodie novels, Jane Harper's deftly plotted mysteries double as sensitive inquiries into human nature, behavior, and psychology. And like The Dry, Force of Nature bristles with wit; it crackles with suspense; it radiates atmosphere. An astonishing book from an astonishing writer."
--A.J. Finn, author of The Woman in the Window

"Lord of the Flies in the Australian outback, with grown women in place of school boys. I loved every chilling moment of it. A blistering follow-up to The Dry from one of the best new voices in crime fiction."
--Sarah Hilary, author of the bestselling DI Marnie Rome series

"Manages to be two things at once. It's a financially skewed police procedural with a likeable detective with his own personal trajectory at its heart, and it's something of a locked room mystery. The fact that the locked room is neither in a vicarage, nor on an island, but somewhere in the claustrophobic vastness of the Australian bush renders Force of Nature all the more original and engaging."
--Sydney Morning Herald

"As thick with menace as the bush that seems to swallow the difficult Alice...Force of Nature cuts between past and present, corporate and domestic, and cements its author as one of Australia's boldest thriller writers." --Australian Women's Weekly

The narrative is finely constructed, with perfectly measured pace and suspense. So much so that it reminded me of another master of form, Liane Moriarty...There are echoes of Picnic at Hanging Rock and Lord of the Flies as any appearance of civility slips away and the women lose direction in a hostile landscape.
--The Saturday Paper (Aus)

Harper's mastery of pace makes Force Of Nature one of 2017's best thrillers.
--Elle (Aus)

Gripping thriller will have readers hooked.
--Sunday Telegraph

Force of Nature proves Jane Harper, author of The Dry, is no one-hit wonder. Its premise is instantly gripping.
--Herald Sun (Aus)

About the Author

Jane Harper is the New York Times bestselling author of The Dry, Force of Nature, and The Lost Man. Jane previously worked as a print journalist in Australia and the UK and lives in Melbourne with her husband, daughter, and son.

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
2,551 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

TOP 10 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 26 September 2017
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 28 November 2017
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 2 October 2017
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 23 January 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 14 August 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 4 December 2017
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 7 October 2017
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 26 April 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Female Reader
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric tale of missing hiker in Australian mountains
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 December 2017
Verified Purchase
32 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Orna G
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 March 2018
Verified Purchase
23 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Kee Lady
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not as good as The Dry
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 December 2018
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Report abuse
M. Sumner
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Stunner from Jane Harper
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 April 2018
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Bluecashmere.
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning story.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 May 2019
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse