You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $8.79
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Gilded Ones by [Namina Forna]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Gilded Ones Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 803 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$8.79
Length: 434 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled Page Flip: Enabled
Language: English Age Level: 14 and up

Save on selected Bestselling Children's books.
Includes Bluey, Peter Rabbit, Spot, Peppa Pig, Roald Dahl and more. Click to explore.

Product description

Review

"Namina Forna could be the Toni Morrison of YA fantasy." --Refinery 29

"Fans of Children of Blood and Bone, Mulan, and the Dora Milaje from Black Panther are going to adore this one." --BuzzFeed

"The girls are powerful, the danger is real, and the characters are engaging and diverse. Forna has accomplished something really special here, equal parts subversive and fun." --Tor

"Namina Forna introduces readers to an intricate, West African-inspired fantasy world."--POPSUGAR

"Total book candy for fans of Tomi Ayedemi's Children of Blood and Bone." --PureWow

A dark feminist tale spun with blood and gold, The Gilded Ones lifts the veil of violent patriarchy and burns the idea of purity to the ground. Must read! --Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times Bestselling author of The Belles

"Haunting, brutal, and oh-so-relevant. This book will suck you into a world where girls bleed gold, magic fills the air, and the real monsters hide behind words instead of claws." --Roseanne A. Brown, New York Times bestselling author of A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

"An enthralling debut. The Gilded Ones redefines sisterhood and is sure to leave readers both inspired and ultimately hopeful. --Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

"The Gilded Ones is a fierce, unflinching fantasy that marks Forna as a debut to watch." --Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken

Phenomenal and extraordinary! Forna's breathtaking use of language depicts a thrilling journey through an epic world, rife with danger and deception, as an obedient girl survives the patriarchy and becomes a warrior. Unquestionably, the best Fantasy of 2021. --Kim Johnson, author of This is My America

"An epic new fantasy with heart-stopping stakes and a fierce, persevering hero, The Gilded Ones is a dazzling and powerful debut." --Elizabeth Lim, bestselling author of Spin the Dawn

"A poignant examination of patriarchal oppression that ensnares its reader and doesn't let go. With a compelling main character and fresh magic system, it takes you on a journey of self-discovery through a fantastically built world with a burning mystery at its heart." --Kalyn Josephson, author of The Storm Crow

"While elements of action and social justice are strong, there is also mystery . . . readers will find themselves awestruck with satisfying revelation, leaving both a clean ending and desire for more."
--Booklist, starred review

"Female-led YA fantasy is an overcrowded genre, but Namina Forna brings a fresh perspective in her stormingly good debut . . . Action combines with an intense feminist story of sisterhood, where strength is found in female friendships and alliances." --The Guardian

"Brutal, brilliant, and ultimately hopeful, The Gilded Ones takes readers on
a stunning sci-fi fantasy ride." --Nerdist

"Formidable heroines and a thoughtful feminist myth-ology distinguish debut author Forna's West Africa-inspired fantasy trilogy launch. Abundant action drives the pace, while a nuanced plot advocates social change by illustrating the myriad ways in which society cages and commodifies women." --Publishers Weekly

"All of the alaki girls have realistic and moving trauma as a result of actions wreaked on them both as human women and alaki, and strong female friendships stand at the forefront of this novel that will have readers thinking about it long after the last page." --The Bulletin --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

About the Author

Namina Forna has a MFA in film and TV production from USC School of Cinematic Arts and a BA from Spelman College. She now works as a screenwriter in LA and loves telling stories with fierce female leads. The Gilded Ones is her debut novel. Visit her on twitter at @NaminaForna and on Instagram at @namina.forna. --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • ASIN : B08L5K8THB
  • Publisher : Usborne Publishing (4 February 2021)
  • Language : English
  • File size : 1810 KB
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Word Wise : Not Enabled
  • Print length : 434 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN : 1984848690
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 803 ratings

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
803 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top review from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 2 March 2021
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

RebeccaBrenna
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful fantasy with heartbreaking moments
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 February 2021
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Rashmi
5.0 out of 5 stars Bold and powerful and utterly gripping
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 February 2021
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
David Jebb
4.0 out of 5 stars West-African inspired epic that lives up to the hype!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 February 2021
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
bintu
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 February 2021
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Alana_thebooknerd
4.0 out of 5 stars Promising new series
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 May 2021
Verified Purchase
Customer image
4.0 out of 5 stars Promising new series
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 May 2021
I read this with a bookclub I love on Instagram in April, I was eager to keep up this time that I started the book a week early and got so into it that I was finished days before the official start. I was so glad that I made the extra effort.

I really enjoyed this book but I'm going to start off with the one thing that stopped the book from being a 5 star read for me. That was the romance. To be clear, the purpose of this book is not romance, the real purpose of this story is so much more important than romance. However, these is a romance thread weaved in to the plot and it just didn't do it for me. I got the vibe it was meant to be a bit like enemies to lovers but more innocent as the characters are essentially children still but there was not enough development within the book for me to really rate the romance. That's just me though, as a romance lover I imagine my expectation on a good romance may differ from those who aren't a fan of romance.

As I said though, the takeaway from this book has nothing to do with the romance. It's about inner strength, accepting who you are and pushing back against the injustice you might receive because of it. In this book, it's a strong feminism point as in the world this book is based on women's only purpose in life is be housewives and bear the mens children. Essentially second class citizens.

I loved the flow of this book, it gives you enough to keep you engaged as the plot continues. The writing style is easy to read and to follow. Deka's journey is impressive and what the girls have to go through in this book can be horrendous. I found all the characters balanced each other out and I particularly enjoyed White Hands whose motives I'm still not 100% of.

The plot felt a little predictable and I guessed a few of the twists but not all of them. As this is YA you can kind of expect a little guessing if you are an older reader. When I started reading this I thought it was a standalone book but as I was making my way through I found out it was going to be part of a series. A series I will continue to read as the ending is quite open and who knows what will happen in the next book.

I really enjoy a book that is set to empower women and bring them up. I also found the author didn't skirt around how there was different treatment for different skin colours in different parts of this world which I thought added to the realism but there wasn't a strong theme of that within the book.

Overall, from reading The Gilded Ones I think this series has a very promising start and once I can preorder the second book I definitely will be. If you enjoy themes of feminism, corruptions and self-development in a Fantasy setting this is one you want. I also love a book that has its own Gods front and centre.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image