Buy new:
$8.00
RRP: $17.99 Details

Recommended Retail Price (RRP)

The RRP displayed is the most recent manufacturer’s recommended retail price made available to Amazon AU.
Save: $9.99 (56%)
FREE delivery: Saturday, 7 Aug on first order.
Fastest delivery: Thursday, 5 Aug
In stock.
$$8.00 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$8.00
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon AU
Sold by Amazon AU
Ships from
Amazon AU
Sold by
Amazon AU
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$22.18
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Sold by: Book Depository UK
(32454 ratings)
93% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
$22.11
+ $3.00 Delivery
Sold by: Rarewaves UK
Sold by: Rarewaves UK
(7156 ratings)
93% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
$25.12
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: The Nile Australia
Sold by: The Nile Australia
(4415 ratings)
87% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Gilded Ones Paperback – 4 February 2021

4.5 out of 5 stars 1,114 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$8.00
$8.00

Enhance your purchase

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Frequently bought together

  • The Gilded Ones
  • +
  • Lore
  • +
  • Legendborn: The New York Times bestselling fantasy debut!
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items ship sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

Fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther are going to adore this one. ― Buzzfeed

[A] stormingly good debut ― The Observer

Utterly transporting and on a massive scale, this is the new series you've been searching for. ― Stylist

The first in a fantasy trilogy with battles, betrayals and a search for identity. ― S Magazine

Namina Forna could be the Toni Morrison of YA Fantasy. ― Refinery 29

This is an empowering read that you won't want to put down and that will be enjoyed by teenagers and adults alike. ― Press Association

This story has real credibility and depth. To be enjoyed by teenagers and adults alike. ― Irish Examiner

Namina has been called the Toni Morrison of YA Fantasy so this is worth reading. ― The Irish News

About the Author

Namina Forna was born in Sierra Leone but emigrated with her family to the US in the 1990s, during her homeland's civil war, and has been travelling back and forth eversince. She has worked as a writer and producer for film and TV in LA since graduating from the USC School of Cinematic Arts. Namina was a finalist for NBC / Universal Writers on the Verge, a semi-finalist for the Sundance Screenwriting Lab and top 50 in the prestigious Nicholls Screenwriting Fellowship. Namina loves spicy food and witchy-looking cats, and has been known to wear unicorn onesies to the nearest taco truck. The Gilded Ones is her debut novel. 

Save on select Books
Discover deals on fiction, non-fiction, children's books and more Shop now

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Usborne GB (4 February 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 416 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1474959571
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1474959575
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 14 - 17 years
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 13.1 x 2.7 x 19.9 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,114 ratings

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
1,114 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top review from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 2 March 2021
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

RebeccaBrenna
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful fantasy with heartbreaking moments
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 February 2021
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Rashmi
5.0 out of 5 stars Bold and powerful and utterly gripping
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 February 2021
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
David Jebb
4.0 out of 5 stars West-African inspired epic that lives up to the hype!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 February 2021
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
bintu
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 February 2021
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Alana_thebooknerd
4.0 out of 5 stars Promising new series
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 May 2021
Verified Purchase
Customer image
4.0 out of 5 stars Promising new series
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 May 2021
I read this with a bookclub I love on Instagram in April, I was eager to keep up this time that I started the book a week early and got so into it that I was finished days before the official start. I was so glad that I made the extra effort.

I really enjoyed this book but I'm going to start off with the one thing that stopped the book from being a 5 star read for me. That was the romance. To be clear, the purpose of this book is not romance, the real purpose of this story is so much more important than romance. However, these is a romance thread weaved in to the plot and it just didn't do it for me. I got the vibe it was meant to be a bit like enemies to lovers but more innocent as the characters are essentially children still but there was not enough development within the book for me to really rate the romance. That's just me though, as a romance lover I imagine my expectation on a good romance may differ from those who aren't a fan of romance.

As I said though, the takeaway from this book has nothing to do with the romance. It's about inner strength, accepting who you are and pushing back against the injustice you might receive because of it. In this book, it's a strong feminism point as in the world this book is based on women's only purpose in life is be housewives and bear the mens children. Essentially second class citizens.

I loved the flow of this book, it gives you enough to keep you engaged as the plot continues. The writing style is easy to read and to follow. Deka's journey is impressive and what the girls have to go through in this book can be horrendous. I found all the characters balanced each other out and I particularly enjoyed White Hands whose motives I'm still not 100% of.

The plot felt a little predictable and I guessed a few of the twists but not all of them. As this is YA you can kind of expect a little guessing if you are an older reader. When I started reading this I thought it was a standalone book but as I was making my way through I found out it was going to be part of a series. A series I will continue to read as the ending is quite open and who knows what will happen in the next book.

I really enjoy a book that is set to empower women and bring them up. I also found the author didn't skirt around how there was different treatment for different skin colours in different parts of this world which I thought added to the realism but there wasn't a strong theme of that within the book.

Overall, from reading The Gilded Ones I think this series has a very promising start and once I can preorder the second book I definitely will be. If you enjoy themes of feminism, corruptions and self-development in a Fantasy setting this is one you want. I also love a book that has its own Gods front and centre.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image