You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $9.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Red, White, and Whole by [Rajani LaRocca]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Red, White, and Whole Kindle Edition

4.9 out of 5 stars 28 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99
Length: 224 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $12.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English
Age Level: 8 - 12 Grade Level: 3 - 7

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

Review

"This verse novel weaves together complex narrative strands with sophistication. Give this emotionally powerful novel to immigrant, third-culture kids or anyone experiencing grief and loss."--Horn Book Magazine

"Perfect for fans of Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga and Full Cicada Moon by Marilyn Hilton."--School Library Journal

"Brimming with warmth. An approachable account of negotiating identity and of struggling with loss."
--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"LaRocca showcases the best of what verse can do, telling a story that is spare, direct and true, every word and idea placed with intentional care. A sensitive coming-of-age story with all the makings of a new middle grade classic."--BookPage (starred review)

"LaRocca's historical novel in verse takes the reader through Reha's past and present, flowing as seamlessly as many of the songs often referred to within the poems. Readers will be changed by her story."--Booklist (starred review)

"An intimate novel that beautifully confronts grief and loss."--Kirkus Reviews

The seamless blend of ancient Indian folklore and modern western storytelling makes this winner a standout. Red, White, and Whole gets my vote.--Nikki Grimes, author of Ordinary Hazards and Garvey's Choice

Red, White, and Whole is the lyrical and poignant journey of a first generation Indian American girl growing up in the eighties. LaRocca weaves together a beautiful mix of themes-- identity, belonging, love, devastating loss, and eighties pop music rendered in seamless verse. A book I wish I had growing up in the eighties! --Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor-winning author of The Night Diary

"Truly, one of the most heart-expanding stories ever, filled with kindness, music, mythology, all of those things. But above all, here is a story of love, and the ways in which it transcends nationalities, age, science, and fear. In LaRocca's gifted hands, her Reha shows us how to live in the world, even when it feels divided, even then."--Kathi Appelt, National Book Award finalist and Newbery Honor-winning author of The Underneath and Keeper

Infused with science, 80s music, and the struggles and joys of navigating middle school when you live in two different worlds, Red, White, and Whole is delightfully real and achingly beautiful. Reha's story grabbed my heart from the first pages and never let go. --Kate Messner, author of Breakout and Chirp --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

About the Author

Rajani LaRocca's debut middle grade novel, MIDSUMMER'S MAYHEM (little bee books), was a Kirkus Best Book of 2019, an Indies Introduce Selection, and an Indie Next Pick. She has forthcoming picture books with Candlewick, Abrams, and Lee & Low. Rajani was born in India, immigrated to the U.S. when she was a baby, and grew up in Louisville, Kentucky. A graduate of Harvard College and Harvard Medical School, she practices medicine and lives outside Boston with her family. Visit her at www.rajanilarocca.com.

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0881SF7BX
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Quill Tree Books (2 February 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 2714 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 224 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN ‏ : ‎ 006304742X
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.9 out of 5 stars 28 ratings

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5
28 global ratings
5 star
91%
4 star
9%
3 star 0% (0%) 0%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

B. J. Neary
5.0 out of 5 stars Double life highs and lows- middle grade must read
Reviewed in the United States on 23 February 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Julie Kennard
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
Reviewed in the United States on 22 March 2021
Verified Purchase
mommylovesbooks
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is brilliant and beautiful - I hope everyone chooses to read Reha's story.
Reviewed in the United States on 19 February 2021
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is brilliant and beautiful - I hope everyone chooses to read Reha's story.
Reviewed in the United States on 19 February 2021
Newly released Red, White and Whole is a beautiful middle grade book - endearing, moving, heartbreaking and hopeful. Set in the 1980s, we follow only child Reha’s personal journey as she feels torn between her two worlds - her life at school where she is the only Indian American student and her life at home with her family and their Indian community. A novel written in verse, the story immediately draws the reader in to feel how this teen’s world is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia.

This book weaves together many themes including a story of love and loss, kindness from friends and family, music from the 80s, Indian mythology, the human side of the medical industry and the struggles of navigating middle school, to name a few. Reha is a beautiful character and I know many children (and adults) will love reading her story.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
Andrea
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully crafted and utterly superb
Reviewed in the United States on 13 February 2021
Verified Purchase
S.R. Shamsi
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful & Lyrical Middle Grade Novel
Reviewed in the United States on 16 February 2021
Verified Purchase