$39.55
Usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days.
Ships from and sold by RarewavesUSA.
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$44.72
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Creek_Books
$49.61
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: BuyGlobal
$54.11
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: The Nile Australia
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Shiver Hardcover – 19 January 2021

4.0 out of 5 stars 195 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$39.55
$35.75
$3.00 delivery: 30 March - 8 April

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Buy this item and get 90 days Free Amazon Music Unlimited. After purchase you will receive an email with further information. Offer valid for a limited time only. Terms and Conditions apply.” Learn more here.

Frequently bought together

  • Shiver
  • +
  • The Sanatorium: The spine-tingling Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick, now a Sunday Times bestseller
  • +
  • Before She Disappeared
Total Price: $116.15
Buy the selected items together

Save on selected Penguin Classics and Popular Penguin books.
View our selection and latest deals. Click to explore.

Product details

  • Publisher : G.P. Putnam's Sons (19 January 2021)
  • Language : English
  • Hardcover : 400 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 0593187830
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0593187838
  • Dimensions : 16.08 x 3.48 x 23.55 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.0 out of 5 stars 195 ratings

Product description

Review

One of PopSugar and Bustle's Most Anticipated Books of January

"[A] gripping debut thriller... Reynolds writes with the same fast-paced intensity of an energy drink-fueled trip down the slopes. Alongside its central mystery, Shiver offers an intimate look at the convoluted relationships of athletes who excel at a sport most people are too cautious even to attempt--including what happens when the truth becomes inescapable, both because of the blizzard and other equally unpredictable forces."--Shelf Awareness

Deep in the breathtaking winter bleakness of the French Alps, revenge--and perhaps even murder--is most definitely afoot...This suspenseful debut thriller by a former freestyle snowboarder contains both style and substance.--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"[A] buzzy debut...The story alternates between the present and 10 years prior, ratcheting up the suspense and spooling out a cast of intriguing characters drawn together atop a picturesque yet deadly mountain. Reynolds, a former international snowboarder, delivers the thrills in her must-read debut.--Library Journal (starred review)

Will chill you to the bone.--New York Post

Exciting...Reynolds, a former competitive snowboarder, brings authenticity to her Alpine setting with her detailed descriptions of the sport. Fans of locked-room mysteries will have fun.--Publishers Weekly

"An atmospheric winter treat. Recommend it to those who enjoyed recent tales of reunions gone awry.--Booklist

"Reynolds, a former snowboarder turned author, delivers with this locked-room mystery that calls to mind a Golden Age tradition of disparate characters summoned to isolated locales to reckon with their sins."--CrimeReads

Ultimately, Shiver presents a mind-racing puzzle that quivers with excitement.-- Mystery and Suspense Magazine

"[A] compelling locked-room thriller...this buzzy debut is filled with suspense and thrills that will keep you reading long into the night."--Bookriot

A fantastic debut!...This aptly named thriller will keep you riveted in your seat...This author skillfully weaves her knowledge of snowboarding with a mystery full of twists and turns... A winter thriller must-read."--Manhattan Book Review

"Allie Reynolds' aptly named debut Shiver sent chills up my spine! This taut and twisty thriller follows five former snowboarding champions trapped in a deserted ski resort, each hiding dark secrets about their shared past that pit them against one another. Cancel all your plans because once you pick up this page turner, you won't be able to put it down until you've reached its shocking conclusion!"--Katherine St. John, author of The Lion's Den

"Five former friends who no longer trust each other are stranded on top of a mountain--what could go wrong? Every character is a suspect in this cleverly plotted page-turner. Reynolds' writing is so atmospheric; I could feel the snow in my eyes, the wind on my face! All hail the chiller thriller."--Stephanie Wrobel, author of Darling Rose Gold

"A tour-de-force, a truly gripping chiller of a thriller, genuinely impossible to put down and a sensational debut.--Peter James, author of Find Them Dead

A high-velocity, heart-in-your-mouth whodunnit that delivers not just twists and turns but McTwists and aerial spins, Shiver is a total joy to read...Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware."--Anna Downes, author of The Safe Place

Could not turn the pages of this book fast enough to find out what had happened. Gripping! Natasha Lester, author of The Paris Secret

"Exhilarating. A brilliant combination of knife-sharp locked room mystery with a will they/won't storyline. So cleverly done - I felt like I was there."--Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange

"In Shiver, Allie Reynolds manages to combine the excitement of a clever, compelling story with all the thrills of competitive snowboarding. I loved it."--Rachel Abbott, author of The Murder Game

"A white-knuckle-ride through a dangerous world full of deadly ambition."--Erin Kelly, author of He Said, She Said

An absolutely gripping read and genuinely unputdownable...Fresh, thrilling and original with complex, believable characters.--Karen Hamilton, author of The Perfect Girlfriend

A deliciously dark locked room mystery about competitive snowboarders who find themselves stranded at the top of a snowy mountain. Throw in a dead woman, shameful secrets, years of resentment and someone out for revenge and you have an exciting, twisty page-turner that keeps you guessing all the way to the end.--CL Taylor, author of Sleep

Absolutely superb. I loved the claustrophobic setting, the cast of characters and the mysterious past. It was paced beautifully and I flew through it in one cold, creepy weekend. It's an astonishingly accomplished debut and I can't wait to see what's next from Allie.--Jo Spain

This stunning debut, set against an original and very cool snowboarding backdrop, will chill you to the bone! Allie Reynolds brilliantly leads readers on a twisted, haunting, nail-biting journey through a terrifying weekend. With alternating timelines and characters with their own dangerous agendas, Shiver is a tour de force of a thriller. I could not put this book down!--Samantha Bailey, author of Woman on the Edge

About the Author

British-born Allie Reynolds is a former freestyle snowboarder who swapped her snowboard for a surfboard and moved to the Gold Coast in Australia, where she taught English as a foreign language for fifteen years. She still lives in Australia with her family. Reynolds's short fiction has been published in women's magazines in the UK, Australia, Sweden, and South Africa. Shiver is her debut novel.

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4 out of 5
195 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 3 February 2021
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 4 March 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 18 February 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 27 January 2021
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 28 January 2021
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 5 February 2021
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

George K.
2.0 out of 5 stars BORING!
Reviewed in the United States on 30 January 2021
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
3.0 out of 5 stars Snowboarders are reunited in the Alps
Reviewed in the United States on 23 January 2021
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
carolynfromoz
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder and suspense at snowboarders reunion
Reviewed in the United States on 23 February 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Lila W
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn’t finish
Reviewed in the United States on 1 March 2021
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
LaraNH
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn’t put it down
Reviewed in the United States on 24 January 2021
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse